2014 DOC SURF Fellowship Awards

Categories: News

The Division of Organic Chemistry congratulates the six 2014 DOC SURF award winners, gratefully acknowledges their sponsors, and thanks The Journal of Organic Chemistry for the opportunity to publish the biographical sketches of the winners.

Student School Mentor Sponsor
Alexander Cleveland Tennessee Technological University Jessie Carrick Pfizer
Nicolle Doering University of California Santa Barbara Armen Zakarian Pfizer
Richard Liu Harvard University Eric Jacobsen Pfizer
Moises Morales Washington State University Philip Garner Pfizer
Julia Murphy Swarthmore Robert Paley Pfizer
Riley Svec University of Iowa Hien Nguyen Cubist

The Division of Organic Chemistry awards annually summer undergraduate research (SURF) fellowships to outstanding undergraduate organic chemistry students attending colleges and universities in the United States. These competitive fellowships are awarded on the merits of students’ research proposals, academic records, faculty recommendations and their passion for laboratory science. They provide support for undergraduates to carry out independent research at their respective colleges/universities in the summer between their junior and senior year under the guidance of a faculty mentor. In addition, the program provides financial support to enable recipients to visit an industrial campus in the fall for a dinner, award session, scientific talks, a tour of the campus and a poster session, where the results of the summer research investigations are presented. Funding for the 2014 SURF Fellowships was provided by gracious support from Pfizer and Cubist.