## **32ND NATIONAL**

# **ORGANIC CHEMISTRY SYMPOSIUM**

demonstrate Its June 16-20, 1991 mile scope Minneapolis, Minnesota and dimensity "

Sponsored by

THE DIVISION OF ORGANIC CHEMISTRY OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

With financial support from

AMERICAN CYANAMID COMPANY **BRISTOL-MYERS SOUIBB PHARMACEUTICAL RESEARCH INSTITUTE** THE DU PONT MERCK PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANY ICI AMERICAS INC. **MERCK SHARP & DOHME RESEARCH LABORATORIES** PFIZER INC. CENTRAL RESEARCH DIVISION ROHM AND HAAS COMPANY SMITHKLINE BEECHAM PHARMACEUTICALS SYNTEX RESEARCH **3M CORPORATE RESEARCH LABORATORIES** AND THE JANSSEN RESEARCH FOUNDATION (A MEMBER OF THE JOHNSON & JOHNSON FAMILY OF COMPANIES)

## SYMPOSIUM PROGRAM

All events are scheduled to take place in Northrop Auditorium except as noted.

Sunday				
1:00 pm - 9:00 pm	Registration in Coffman Great Hall			
8:30 pm - 12:00 am	Opening Mixer and Poster Session A in Coffman Great Hall			
Monday morning	Presiding: Frank B. Mallory, Symposium Executive Officer			
7:30 am - 12:00 pm	Registration in Northrop Auditorium			
8:30 am - 8:50 am	Opening Remarks			
8:50 am - 9:00 am	Welcome by Nils Hasselmo, President, University of Minnesota			
9:00 am - 10:00 am	Paul A. Wender DNA Cleaving Agents: Synthetic, Mechanistic, and Computer Modeling Studies			
10:00 am - 10:15 am	Questions			
10:15 am - 10:45 am	Break			
10:45 am - 11:45 am	Dennis A. Dougherty Spin Control in Organic Molecules and Materials: Toward an Organic Ferromagnet?			
11:45 am - 12:00 pm	Questions			
Monday evening	Presiding: Paul G. Gassman, Local Committee Co-Chairman			
7:30 pm - 8:30 pm	Kendall N. Houk Theoretical Characterizations of Transition States of Organic Reactions			
8:30 pm - 8:45 pm	Questions			
8:45 pm - 9:45 pm	Philip E. Eaton Cubanes: Starting Materials for the 1990s and the New Century			
9:45 pm - 10:00 pm	Questions			
10:00 pm - 12:00 am	Mixer and continuation of Poster Session A in Coffman Great Hall			
Tuesday morning	Presiding: Thomas R. Hoye, Local Committee Co-Chairman			
9:00 am - 10:00 am	K. Barry Sharpless Recent Advances in Asymmetric Catalysis			
10:00 am - 10:15 am	Questions			
10:15 am - 10:45 am	Break			
10:45 am - 11:45 am	Peter B. Dervan Sequence Specific Recognition of Double Helical DNA			
11:45 am - 12:00 pm	Questions			

Tuesday evening	Presiding: Joseph J. Gajewski, Organic Division Chairman			
7:30 pm + 8:45 pm	Gilbert Stork, Roger Adams Award Address: Problems and Progress in Regio- and Stereocontrol: The Temporary Silicon Connection			
9:00 pm - 12:00 am	Mixer and Poster Session B in Coffman Great Hall			
Wednesday morning	Presiding: Frank B. Mallory, Symposium Executive Officer			
9:00 am - 10:00 am	Dennis P. Curran Radical Reactions in Organic Synthesis			
10:00 am - 10:15 am	Questions			
10:15 am - 10:45 am	Break			
10:45 am - 11:45 am	Jerrold Meinwald Organic Chemistry of Everyday Insect Life: Violence, Sex, and Drugs			
11:45 am - 12:00 pm	Questions			
Wednesday evening				
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm	Outdoor Feast on Northrop Mall			
8:00 pm - 10:00 pm	Dallas Brass Concert			
10:00 pm - 12:00 am	Mixer and continuation of Poster Session B in Coffman Great Hall			
Thursday morning	Presiding: William R. Roush, Organic Division Secretary-Treasurer			
9:00 am - 10:00 am	Robert H. Grubbs Polymer Synthesis through Organometallic Intermediates			
10:00 am - 10:15 am	Questions			
10:15 am - 10:45 am	Break			
10:45 am - 11:45 am	Dieter Seebach (R)-Polyhydroxybutyrate in the Hands of a Synthetic Organic Chemist			
11:45 am - 12:00 pm	Questions			
12:00 pm	Closing Remarks			

### 32ND NATIONAL ORGANIC CHEMISTRY SYMPOSIUM: ORGANIZATIONAL RESPONSIBILITIES

#### Overall management:

Frank B. Mallory, National Symposium Executive Officer

#### Local arrangements:

Paul G. Gassman, Local Co-Chairman Thomas R. Hoye, Local Co-Chairman Scott D. Rychnovsky, Poster Sessions Lona Jean Turner, Conference Services Debra A. Dykhuis, Conference Services

#### General oversight:

ACS Division of Organic Chemistry:

Chairman Chairman-Elect Past Chairman Secretary-Treasurer National Program Chair National Symposium Executive Officer

National Symposium Executive Officer-Elect Executive Committee

Councilors

Alternate Councilors

#### 1990

Vict	or	Α.	s	nieckus
Jose	ph	J.	0	Jajewski
Pat	N.	Co	n	falone
Will	lian	R		Roush
Frai	nkli	n /	٩.	Davis

Frank B. Mallory

Norman A. LeBel Kenner C. Rice Scott E. Denmark Kathlyn A. Parker Dennis P. Curran Dennis A. Dougherty

Peter Beak John E. Baldwin Michael P. Doyle James D. White

Cynthia A. Maryanoff Peter J. Stang Daniel J. Pasto David M. Lemal

#### 1991

Joseph J. Gajewski James A. Marshall Victor A. Snieckus William R. Roush Franklin A. Davis

Frank B. Mallory

Amos B. Smith, III

Scott E. Denmark Cynthia A. Maryanoff Dennis P. Curran Dennis A. Dougherty Dennis Liotta John S. Swenton

John E. Baldwin Michael P. Doyle James D. White Kathlyn A. Parker

Daniel J. Pasto David M. Lemal Peter Beak Marye Anne Fox

### THE ROGER ADAMS AWARD IN ORGANIC CHEMISTRY

The Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry is sponsored jointly by the American Chemical Society, Organic Reactions, Inc., and Organic Syntheses, Inc. The award recognizes the distinguished career of Roger Adams, who played a vital role in each of these three organizations. He was Chairman of the Board of Directors as well as President of the American Chemical Society, and he co-founded *Organic Syntheses* and *Organic Reactions*.

The award is made biennially to an individual, without regard to nationality, for outstanding contributions to research in organic chemistry. The award consists of a gold medal, a sterling silver replica of the medal, and an honorarium of fifteen thousand dollars. It is presented at the biennial National Organic Chemistry Symposium of the Division of Organic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. The awardee is a featured lecturer in the program of the Symposium.

The recipient of this year's Roger Adams Award is Professor Gilbert Stork of Columbia University. Professor Stork was cited "for fundamental contributions to the methodology of organic synthesis, and for elegance in the stereoselective syntheses of natural products." His award address entitled "Problems and Progress in Regio- and Stereocontrol: The Temporary Silicon Connection" will be delivered on Tuesday evening, June 18, 1991.



**GILBERT STORK**