The 2015 Perkin Medal goes to Cynthia Maryanoff

Categories: News

The ACS Organic Division congratulates one of its councilors (and long-time executive committee member-since 1988), Cynthia A. Maryanoff, Foundation Distinguished Professor at the Baruch S. Blumberg Institute, in Doylestown, Pa., as the recipient of the 2015 Perkin Medal. The award is given annually by the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) in honor of outstanding work in applied chemistry in the U.S. See the press release in C&EN.

Maryanoff will receive the medal and present an address at an Oct. 6 dinner in Philadelphia, after Innovation Day events at the Chemical Heritage Foundation. The medal, one of the chemical industry’s most prestigious awards, is named for Sir William Henry Perkin, who developed the first synthetic dye, the so-called Perkin’s mauve, in 1856.