Executive Committee

Officers

Katherine Maloney Photo
Dr. Katherine Maloney – Chair 2023
Professor
Point Loma Nazarene University
Department of Chemistry
3900 Lomaland Drive
San Diego, CA 92106
Tel: 619-849-3425
katherinemaloney@pointloma.edu
Angie Angeles Photo
Dr. Angie R. Angeles – Chair Elect 2023
Head of Process Chemistry
Vertex Pharmaceuticals
3215 Merryfield Row
San Diego, CA 92121
Tel: 858-404-6600
angieangeles94@gmail.com
Dr. Lamont Terrell – Past Chair 2023
Inclusion and Diversity Lead, Pharma R&D
GlaxoSmithKline
Mail Stop UP1210
1250 S. Collegeville Road
Collegeville, PA 19426
Tel: 610-917-4979
Lamont.R.Terrell@gsk.com
Missing Photo
Dr. Ashis Saha – Treasurer 2023-2026
Drug Discovery & Medicinal Chemistry Consulting
Principal, Saha Discovery
Framingham, MA
Tel: 978-618-6104
sahaashish1909@gmail.com
Robert E. Maleczka Photo
Dr. Robert E. Maleczka, Jr. – Past Treasurer 2018-2022
Department of Chemistry
Michigan State University
578 S. Shaw Lane
East Lansing, MI 48824-1322
Tel: 517-353-0834
Fax: 517-353-1793
http://www2.chemistry.msu.edu/faculty/Maleczka/index.html
maleczka@chemistry.msu.edu
Scott Sieburth Photo
Dr. Scott Sieburth – Secretary 2017-2023
Department of Chemistry
Temple University
1901 N. 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Tel: 215-204-7916
Fax: 215-204-1532
https://chem.cst.temple.edu/sieburth.html
scott.sieburth@icloud.com
Richard Broene Photo
Dr. Richard Broene – Secretary Elect 2023, Secretary 2024-2027
Professor, Department of Chemistry
Bowdoin College
6600 College Station
Brunswick, Maine 04011
Tel: 207-725-3626
rbroene@bowdoin.edu
Emily McLaughlin Photo
Dr. Emily C. McLaughlin – Program Chair 2023-2024
Associate Dean of the College & Associate Professor
Bard College
30 Campus Road
Annandale-on-Hudson, NY 12504
Tel: 845-752-2355
Fax: 845-752-2339
mclaughl@bard.edu
Scott Bagley - Pfizer - Profile Photo
Scott Bagley- Program Chair Elect 2023-2024
Sr. Principal Scientist
Pfizer Medicine Design
Eastern Point Road
Groton, CT 06340
Tel: 860-441-3719
Scott.w.bagley@pfizer.com
Steven Silverman Photo
Dr. Steven Silverman – Past Program Chair 2023-2024
Principal Scientist, Process Research and Development
Merck Research Laboratories
2000 Galloping Hill Road
Kenilworth, NJ 07033
Tel: 908-740-3653
steven.silverman@merck.com

National Organic Chemistry Symposium (NOS) Officers

Michelle Tran-Dube Photo
Michelle Tran-Dubé – NOS Co-Chair 2023
Senior Principal Scientist
Worldwide Medicinal Chemistry
Pfizer
10770 Science Center Drive, CB2
San Diego, CA 92121
Tel: 858-622-3270
michelle.tran-dube@pfizer.com
Steven Silverman Photo
Dr. Steven Silverman – NOS Co-Chair 2023
Principal Scientist
Process Research and Development
Merck Research Laboratories
2000 Galloping Hill Road
Kenilworth, NJ 07033
Tel: 908-740-3653
steven.silverman@merck.com

Councilors

Hue Davies
Dr. Huw Davies – Term of Office 2021-2023
Chemistry Building
Department of Chemistry
Emory University
Atwood Hall 440
Atlanta, GA 30322
Tel: 404-727-6839
hmdavie@emory.edu
Kevin Brown Photo
Dr. M. Kevin Brown – Term of Office 2023
Associate Professor
Indiana University
Department of Chemistry
800 E. Kirkwood Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47405
Tel: 812-856-9114
brownmkb@indiana.edu
Steven Silverman Photo
Dr. Steven Silverman – Term of Office 2023-2025
Principal Scientist, Process Research and Development
Merck Research Laboratories
2000 Galloping Hill Road
Kenilworth, NJ 07033
Tel: 908-740-3653
steven.silverman@merck.com
Lisa A. Marcaurelle Photo
Dr. Lisa A. Marcaurelle – Term of office 2022-2024
Senior Director, Chemistry
GlaxoSmithKline
200 Cambridge Park Drive
Cambridge, MA 02140
Tel: 774-331-6668
Lisa.a.marcaurelle@gsk.com

Alternate Councilors

Stefan Koenig Photo
Dr. Stefan G. Koenig – Term of Office 2022-2024
Small Molecule Process Chemistry
Genentech Research & Early Development (gRED)
1 DNA Way
South San Francisco, CA 94080
Tel: 650-225-1920
koenig.stefan@gene.com
Michelle Tran-Dube Photo
Michelle Tran-Dubé – Term of Office 2021-2023
Senior Principal Scientist Worldwide Medicinal Chemistry
Pfizer
10770 Science Center Drive, CB2
San Diego, CA 92121
Tel: 858-622-3270
michelle.tran-dube@pfizer.com
Photo Scott Gilbertson
Dr. Scott Gilbertson – Term of Office 2022-2024
M.D. Anderson Professor
Department Associate Chair
Department of Chemistry
University of Houston
Houston, Texas 77204-5003
Office: 5027 – SERC
Tel: 832.842.8821
srgilbertson@uh.edu
Monica Marie Arroyo
Dr. Monica Marie Arroyo – Term of Office 2023-2025
President, Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 336
Member, ACS Committee on Local Section Activities
Professor of Chemistry
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico
monicam.arroyo@gmail.com

Members-at-Large

Dr. Katelyn Billings – Term of Office 2022-2024
Director, Discovery Chemistry
Relay Therapeutics
399 Binney St. Floor 2
Cambridge MA 02141
kbillings@relaytx.com
Dr. Diane Carrera – Term of Office 2021-2023
Associate Director, Process Chemistry
Bolt Biotherapeutics
900 Chesapeake Drive
Redwood City, CA 94063
Tel: 626-808-8158
dcarrera@boltbio.com
Dr. Cathleen Crudden – Term of Office 2021-2023
Department of Chemistry
Queen’s University
Chernoff Hall, 90 Bader Lane
Kingston, ON K7L 2S8 Canada
(613) 533-6755
cruddenc@chem.queensu.ca
Dr. Karen Draths – Term of Office 2022-2024
Department of Chemistry
Michigan State University
578 S. Shaw Lane
East Lansing, MI 48824-1322
Tel: 517-353-0499
draths@chemistry.msu.edu
Dr. Jon T. Njardarson – Term of Office 2021-2023
Professor
University of Arizona
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1306 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
Tel: 520-626-0754
njardars@arizona.edu
Dr. Michael Pirrung – Term of Office 2022-2024
Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
University of California
Riverside, CA 92521
Professor of Pharmaceutical Science
University of California
Irvine, CA 92697
Tel: 951-827-2722
https://profiles.ucr.edu/michael.pirrung
michael.pirrung@ucr.edu
Dr. Daisy Rosas Vargas – Term of Office 2022-2024
Assistant Professor
Ithaca College
drosasvargas@ithaca.edu
Dr. Elizabeth Swift – Term of Office 2021-2023
Senior Scientist
Discovery Process Research
Janssen
3210 Merryfield Row, San Diego, CA 92121
eswift1@its.jnj.com
DOC Executive Committee Member: Daniel J. Weix
Dr. Daniel J. Weix – Term of Office 2023-2025
Wayland E. Noland Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
University of Wisconsin-Madison
dweix@wisc.edu
DOC Executive Committee Member: Jessica Hoover
Dr. Jessica Hoover – Term of Office 2023-2025
Associate Professor of Chemistry
C. Eugene Bennett Department of Chemistry
West Virginia University
Tel: 304-293-0367
https://www.hooverlab.org
Jessica.Hoover@mail.wvu.edu
DOC Executive Committee Member: Vanessa Marx
Dr. Vanessa M. Marx – Term of Office 2023-2025
Principal Scientist II
Global Discovery Chemistry
Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research
5959 Horton Street, Suite 900
Emeryville, CA 94608
Tel: 669-307-4264
vanessa.marx@novartis.com
DOC Executive Committee Member: Steven Wisniewski
Dr. Steven Wisniewski – Term of Office 2023-2025
Associate Director, Chemical Process Development
Bristol Myers Squibb
1 Squibb Drive
New Brunswick, NJ 08903
Tel: 732-227-6333
steven.wisniewski@bms.com
DOC Executive Committee Member: André K Isaacs
Dr. André K Isaacs – Term of Office 2023-2025
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
College of the Holy Cross
Haberlin 235
Tel: 508-793-3378
akisaacs@holycross.edu

Ex-Officio Members

Virtual Program Officers

Steven Silverman Photo
Dr. Steven Silverman
Principal Scientist
Process Research and Development
Merck Research Laboratories
2000 Galloping Hill Road
Kenilworth, NJ 07033
Tel: 908-740-3653
steven.silverman@merck.com
Karl Hansen Photo
Dr. Karl Hansen
Vice President, CMC
Praxis Precision Medicines, Inc.
khansen@praxismedicines.com
Scott Bagley - Pfizer - Profile Photo
Mr. Scott Bagley
Sr. Principal Scientist
Pfizer Medicine Design
Eastern Point Road
Groton, CT 06340
Tel: 860-441-3719
Scott.w.bagley@pfizer.com

Regional Meeting Liaison

Frank Davis Photo
Dr. Franklin A. Davis – Regional Meeting Liaison
Temple University
Department of Chemistry
Beury Hall 201
1901 N. 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Tel: 215-204-0477
Fax: 215-204-0478
fdavis@temple.edu

Graduate Research Symposium Organizers

Angie Angeles Photo
Dr. Angie R. Angeles – NOS Chair 2022
Head of Process Chemistry
Vertex Pharmaceuticals
3215 Merryfield Row
San Diego, CA 92121
Tel: 858-404-6600
angieangeles94@gmail.com
Evans Photo
Dr. P. Andrew Evans – Graduate Research Symposium
Alfred R. Bader Chair in Organic Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Queen’s University
90 Bader Lane
Kingston, ON, K7L 3N6, CA
Tel: 613-533-6286
Fax: 613-533-6669
http://faculty.chem.queensu.ca/people/faculty/evans/
Andrew.Evans@chem.queensu.ca
Molander Photo
Dr. Gary A. Molander – Graduate Research Symposium
Hirschmann-Makineni Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
University of Pennsylvania
231 South 34th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6323
Tel: 215-573-8604
http://molandergroup.chem.upenn.edu/
gmolandr@sas.upenn.edu

Undergraduate Award Program Director

Nancy Mills Photo
Dr. Nancy Mills – Undergraduate Award Program Director
Emeritus Professor
Department of Chemistry
Trinity University
now in Eugene, Oregon
Tel: 210-685-8253
nmills@trinity.edu

Web Masters

Ward Photo
Dr. Joseph S. Ward III – Lead Web Master
Instructional Laboratory Services Manager
Department of Chemistry
University of Michigan
930 North University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1055
Tel: 734-936-0385
drjoeward@gmail.com
Photo of Brian J. Myers
Dr. Brian J. Myers – Web Master
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Ohio Northern University
525 South Main Street
Ada, OH 45810
Tel: 419-772-2350
http://www2.onu.edu/~b-myers/
b-myers@onu.edu
Photo of Khoi Van
Dr. Khoi Van – Assistant Web Master
Linkedin
khoivan88@gmail.com
Photo of Andrew Philip Freiburger
Andrew Philip Freiburger – Assistant Web Master
Computational Scientist I
Argonne National Laboratory
Tel: 616-322-8036 Linkedin
andrewfreiburger@gmail.com

Division Officers

A historical list of all the Division’s Officers since 1925 is available as a MS Excel File .