Linkedin iconTwitter iconFacebook iconGoogle+ iconRSS icon 

Fellowship Awardees for 2013-2014

Alan H. Cherney Cherney Amgen Logo

Sponsor: Amgen
California Institute of Technology
Advisor: Sarah Reisman

Essay: Enantio- and Diastereoselective Cross-Couplings via a Dynamic Kinetic Resolution. View Essay
Biographical Information: Alan is currently a 4th year graduate student working with Prof. Sarah Reisman at the California Institute of Technology. He is developing nickel-catalyzed asymmetric reductive cross-couplings of organohalide starting materials.
Undergrad: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL, BS Chemical Engineering


Patrick Fier Fier Org. Syn. Logo

Sponsor: Organic Syntheses Fellowship
University of California, Berkeley
Advisor: John Hartwig

Essay: Recent Advances and Applications of Enantioselective Pictet-Spengler Reactions. View Essay
Biographical Information: Patrick is currently a 4th year graduate student with Professor John Hartwig at the University of California, Berkeley. His research is focused on developing new reactions for the incorporation of fluorine and fluoroalkyl groups into organic compounds with transition metals.
Undergrad: University of Northern Iowa, BS Chemistry/Biochemistry


James Payne Payne Org. Syn. Logo

Sponsor: Nelson Leonard Fellowship sponsored by Organic Syntheses
University of Chicago
Advisor: Jared C. Lewis

Essay: The Use of Directed Evolution for the Production and Discovery of Medicinal Products. View Essay
Biographical Information: James is currently a fourth year student working with Professor Jared C. Lewis at the University of Chicago on the directed evolution of halogenases for the modification of biologically active materials.
Undergrad: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL, BSc Chemistry & BA Astronomy


Cale D. Weatherly Weatherly Boehringer_Ingelheim Logo

Sponsor: Boerhinger Ingelheim
University of Wisconsin
Advisor: Jennifer M. Schomaker

Essay: Toward a General Catalytic Asymmetric Claisen Rearrangement. View Essay
Biographical Information: Cale is currently a fourth year graduate student working with Professor Jennifer M. Schomaker at the University of Wisconsin. He is studying the scope and mechanism of chemoselective Ag-catalyzed amination reactions.
Undergrad: Williams College, Williams College, Williamstown, MA, BA Chemistry and Philosophy

In addition to the 4 Fellowship Awardees listed above, the following students are recognized for their achievements and applications. Unfortunately, we were unable to award them fellowships because they won an NSF fellowship for the 2013-14 academic year. However, we have granted each of them a travel award to the 2015 NOS.

Alina Borovika Borovika

University of Michigan
Advisor: Pavel Nagorny

Essay: Chiral Hydrogen Bond Donor- Catalyzed Stereoselective Reactions of Oxocarbenium Ions. View Essay
Biographical Information: Alina Borovika is currently a 4th year graduate student working with Prof. Pavel Nagorny at the University of Michigan. She is investigating stereoselective reactions of oxocarbenium ions catalyzed by hydrogen bond donors.
Undergrad: University of Latvia, BS, Chemistry


Philip Milner Milner

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Advisor: Stephen Buchwald

Essay: Advances in the Synthesis of Aryl Fluoroalkyl Ethers. View Essay
Biographical Information: Philip is a fourth year graduate student in the laboratory of Stephen Buchwald at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His research centers on the development of catalysts for constructing carbon─fluorine bonds.
Undergrad: Hamilton College, Clinton, NY, BA Chemistry and Mathematics

Robert J. Sharpe Sharpe

North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Advisor: Jeffrey Johnson

Essay: Recent Advances in the Synthesis of Epidithiodiketopiperazine Frameworks. View Essay
Biographical Information: Robert is a 3rd year graduate student in the laboratories of Jeffrey Johnson at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is investigating stereoselective desymmetrization reactions and their application to complex molecule synthesis.
Undergrad: The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL, BS Chemistry



See all the previous Division of Organic Chemistry Fellowship Award Winners since 1981
To view the essays of the award winners, you will need acrobat reader.