Sauvage, Stoddart, Feringa win the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Categories: News

The Organic Division congratulates Jean-Pierre Sauvage (University of Strasbourg, France), J. Fraser Stoddart (Northwestern University, Evanston, IL) and Bernard L. Feringa (University of Groningen, the Netherlands) who have won the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for “their design and production of molecular machines. They have developed molecules with controllable movements, which can perform a task when energy is added” tools used in organic chemistry. See the for more information.

Professors Stoddart and Feringa both spoke at the 2007 NOS held at Duke University. See NOS History for the other speakers at that event as well as the rest of the NOS.