2016 DOC Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) Awardees

Categories: News

The Division of Organic Chemistry congratulates the nine 2016 DOC SURF award winners and gratefully acknowledges their sponsors (Merck and Pfizer). The winners are:

Student School Mentor Sponsor
Harrison Besser Harvard University Prof. Eric Jacobsen Pfizer
Hannah Burdge Towson University Prof. Keith Reber Merck
Shivansh Chawla Cornell University Prof. Yimon Aye Merck
Corrine Elliott University of Kentucky Prof. Susan Odom Pfizer
Chris Fritschi Niagara University Prof. Luis Sanchez Pfizer
Anneliese Gest Macalester College Prof. Leah Witus Pfizer
Evan Hurlow University of Utah Prof. Jon Rainier Merck
Tyler Pabst Youngstown State University Prof. Douglas Genna Merck
Tekenari Tienabeso University of Oklahoma Prof. Indrajeet Sharma Pfizer

The Division of Organic Chemistry awards annually summer undergraduate research fellowships (SURF) to outstanding undergraduate organic chemistry students attending colleges and universities in the United States. These competitive fellowships are awarded on the merits of students’ research proposals, academic records, faculty recommendations and their passion for laboratory science. They provide support for undergraduates to carry out independent research at their respective colleges/universities in the summer between their junior and senior year under the guidance of a faculty mentor. In addition, the program provides financial support to enable recipients to visit an industrial campus in the fall for a dinner, award session, scientific talks, a tour of the campus and a poster session, where the results of the summer research investigations are presented.