2017 DOC Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) Awardees

Categories: News

The Division of Organic Chemistry congratulates the nine 2017 DOC SURF award winners and gratefully acknowledges their sponsors (Pfizer and Merck). The winners are:

Student School Mentor Sponsor
Amanda Cowfer University of Illinois Prof. Paul Hergenrother Pfizer
Alex Cusumano North Carolina State University Prof. Joshua Pierce Pfizer
Katherine Forbes Occidental College Prof. Jeffrey Cannon Merck
Margaret McEwan Christopher Newport University Prof. Jeffrey Carney Pfizer
Lucus Oxtoby Wisconsin-Madison Prof. Jennifer Schomaker Pfizer
Maximilian Palkowitz Boston College Prof. James Morken Merck
Ambarneil Saha Cornell University Prof. Song Lin Pfizer
Holt Sakai Yale Prof. Timothy Newhouse Merck
Emma Streff Washington University in St. Louis Prof. Vladimir Birman Merck

The Division of Organic Chemistry awards annually summer undergraduate research fellowships (SURF) to outstanding undergraduate organic chemistry students attending colleges and universities in the United States. These competitive fellowships are awarded on the merits of students’ research proposals, academic records, faculty recommendations and their passion for laboratory science. They provide support for undergraduates to carry out independent research at their respective colleges/universities in the summer between their junior and senior year under the guidance of a faculty mentor. In addition, the program provides financial support to enable recipients to visit an industrial campus in the fall for a dinner, award session, scientific talks, a tour of the campus and a poster session, where the results of the summer research investigations are presented.